Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Pontiac Sunfire 2000Change

21 reviews
4/5
Pontiac Sunfire
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2010
1 review
2002
41 reviews
1996
7 reviews
2008
3 reviews
2001
17 reviews
1995
1 review
2007
1 review
2000
21 reviews
1994
1 review
2006
3 reviews
1999
22 reviews
1991
1 review
2005
21 reviews
1998
19 reviews
1988
1 review
2004
23 reviews
1997
8 reviews
1981
1 review
2003
25 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-21 of 21 reviews

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by CJAD09 on 12-05-2017
It is a tolerable work beater
Let's face it, it's a common daily. The one I am driving is beat up, no options, half a muffler and leaves much to be desired cosmetically. $40 to a tank and good heat, it's all I really need for the highway to and from work.
It does not have much in terms of power, takes a while to get to the 100km/h threshold but that could be attributed to neglect from the previous owner.

Overall, it is not pretty but it does the job.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by Joe8228 on 06-05-2017
Nice little car
My first car! It was rented but I liked it. It was a good car and pretty much performant for the engine it had.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: GTX
by Radar43 on 03-22-2014
2000 Pontiac Sunfire

This car has treated me very good, its like a little tank will get you through anything. Very reliable, has never left me stranded, great vehicle!
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by Shna on 08-10-2013
Perfect for starter or students
She has lasted me and my family quite some time, 4 banger which is great on gas, and awesome in the winter as it is a heavier vehicle
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by Sporty_Red on 04-29-2013
Farewell Sporty Red
Excellent car.
Well maintained.
Fun to drive.
Great on gas.
A wonderful family "get-away" car.
A steal of a deal.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by chels15 on 03-26-2013
decent first car
I find it is good on gas. A good first car for somebody. i dont think the seats are that uncomfortable. 2.4l engine is a real pain to change the water pump.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by atigersgrin on 03-15-2013
Reliable
Owned mine for five years at the end of its run. Had one repair for a arm bushing at approximately $300. Eventually had to get rid of it due to rusting a hole through the gas tank, but engine was still running strong after over 330k km. When a bought another car I got the similar Chevy Cavalier.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: SE
by cubed on 03-05-2013
Reliable Efficient Ride
Sporty look with good fuel efficiency. Reliable and only had to maintain and change the consumables. The aftermarket tinted windows are in mint condition and add to the look of the car. Vehicle maintains its kick. After over 13 yrs of trouble free rides, it needs a little TLC.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by samtaro on 03-03-2013
horrid
bad on gas and stalls all the time. It has no space, including the trunk. The only nice thing is that it takes cheap gas. All and all I am happy that I got it as a first car. I do not care if I wreck it. I can not wait to get a new car.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by Amy6487 on 02-27-2013
Great value for the money paid.
Our next car will be a Pontiac with four doors. Fuel economy is also important. Thanks for giving us a wonderful car ownership as first time car buyers.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by hyp on 02-15-2013
sunfire gt
great car, good on gas and its got some pep for a "sunfire". I like it. mines a 2 door GT fully loaded, 5spd. Very reliable so far and has never failed me yet. I recommend a sunfire for anyone looking for a cheap reliable car!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by KateD on 01-23-2013
Quite Happy With This Car
I purchased this car used, and have been quite happy with it. It gets reasonable gas mileage. It is comfortable to ride in and have only had a few problems above regular maintenance. I had to replace the water pump about a year after purchasing it and have had problems with all 4 power window motors. I replaced the power motors in the windows and they work fine now.
Overall a decent car.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: GT Limited Edition
by Sapienne on 01-13-2013
Trans-Am's Little brother
Bought this car new at the time for around 30 G's significantly more than all the other models because this one was the fully loaded sport model. Being a stick its a little more jerky than others I driven, however throws are shorter than average and make shifting pretty fast like a short throw shifter. It's easier to shift it fast and accelerate quick than to try and cruise or take it easy. It wants to be driven! Pretty quick off the line for a 4 banger. Had it at 6.9 sec from 0-100km. However the power saps away for highway passing and could use a boost for more confidence. A turbo charger makes this thing a mean machine only Vetts and Vipers can beat but severely decreases the engine life on this car. Handling is sloppy and considering how much power this little car puts out torch steer is a real problem. Even at highway speeds the steering and road stance feels like you are wrestling a little beast on the road. Still have this car 13 years later and worst problem I've had is an AC compressor go. Fairly reliable, but would go for this cars bigger brother for more highway confidence. But since they don’t make Pontiacs anymore (BIG MISTAKE!) I’ll have to settle for a Camero because the new Trans-Am they aren’t making looks way better than a Camero even though they are evenly matched.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: Red
by Unreliable on 12-25-2012
Don't count on it.
It's an overall nice looking car, nice red color and black interior. Almost like a racecar you would say, but it has been very unreliable constantly breaking down even in it's time. We decided to take a chance with it even though it's an old car, and it's definately more money out of your wallet then it is from the awesome savings you get on gas.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: SE
by ReliableCar on 12-18-2012
Reliable
Reliable little car. Roomy and comfortable. Great fuel economy and fun to rip around in, especially if a manual!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by ela on 12-07-2012
Grewat car
Love this car very reliable. great on as very fast on pick up and the comfort is great. Never had any big problems with this car and would get the same year again if anything happens to my car. I would tell anyone this is a great used car to get.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

Trim: SFS
by review2732 on 11-21-2012
excellent reliable car, lady driven, with lots of tlc
i have loved owning and driving this car and would keep it, only i have been given a new one from a family member.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by Carman8112 on 11-12-2012
Amazing
This car is amaing. Easy on gas, extremely reliable and it has never broken down on me once. Drives excellent in summer and winter. Never any trouble getting through snow. Very easy to mantain and easy to add extras such as new sound systems, lights ect.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by ghost on 11-07-2012
Cheap to maintain
not pleased with it's performance or gas mileage but it costs a fraction to repair and maintain compared to other cars on the road today.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by cathyscarfax on 11-03-2012
a reliable ride
been through thick and thin with this baby, have driven it hard over the past year. used it as a pizza delivery car, it wasn't so great on the in town milage but was great on the hiway though. I would have liked it to be any other color than the green that it is however beggers cant be choosers, the car used to belong to my mom. it was in much better condition when i got it just over a year ago. now it looks like it was tossed in a tornado lol
Overall
3.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2000 Pontiac Sunfire

by marco on 11-02-2012
its a good ride
I bought this car in summer 2001 and we never have mechanical problems except oil changing and brakes i drive it montreal to bc every 6 month and no problem
Overall
2.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email