Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Nissan X-Trail 2005Change

11 reviews
4/5
Nissan X-Trail
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2010
1 review
2006
16 reviews
2002
1 review
2008
2 reviews
2005
11 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by campbell5774 on 03-12-2017
wont stop running
both mine new in 05, it now has 362000 kms. manual transmission means brakes last a lot longer, total change twice including callipers. worst part is wheel bearings in rear, had to change rear wheel bearing passenger side 5 times. not cheap to do. door handle fell off on a cold day when i went to open door. rust around back week wells around 150000km and now is pretty bad, getting rust on roof now and windshield leaks, clutch, entire exhaust system and engine are all original. only part time 4whhel drive with front wheel drive when not using 4 wheel drive a big plus, had to put in major money at 150000 and again at 300000, but although the engine and clutch seem fine the body is falling apart with rust, roads are terrible where i live and had to change most of steering around 250000. air conditioning went only two years ago, i have original radiator, . in my experience buy used around 80000 or better then again around 160000 - 240000. because as said about every 150000 you have to put major money into it
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Pluggr76 on 12-27-2016
X-Trail. practical, generally reliable and driveable
With 250K on this 2005 a little wear and tear is unavoidable. Solid on the highway, dependable on the gravel and practical around time this has been a great little truck. Replaced the rear wheel bearings twice, the emergency brake is pretty unusable, but this thing just keeps on going. Sure footed in both FWD and 4WD, I trust my kids with this vehicle. Parts are a little harder to come by by, but still I am looking at buying a lower milage version to do it all over again.....
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by Sevenup on 12-14-2016
Time to scrap it
I don't know what planet everyone is on saying all the good things about the xtrail, but as a long-time owner I can tell you it's a terrible car. The ride is horrendously hard and contributed to my lower back issues. The wheel bearings get fried constantly, the cam sensor goes every 30-50,000km (dies on the road), rusts badly around the wheels (check for bondo), front end parts fail constantly, and the engine burns gas like a V8. At 200000km, it now needs timing chain, 5th set of brakes, exhaust, and more front end work...i'm not putting the $5,000 into keeping it going. Terrible car! In contrast our second car, jeep wrangler, at 150000km just had its first real shop visit in 7yrs.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
1/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: SE
by xtrail on 09-17-2014
Nissan X-trail - great economic small SUV
Very reliable, fuel efficient small SUV. I will definitely recommend this car to anybody. Mechanically very reliable, with great creature comforts (heated front seats, very efficient air condition). Switching effortlessly with dash mounted knob between 2 wheel drive and all wheel drive. Usable size cargo space, finished in plastic makes it easy to clean. Panoramic moon roof is a nice feature.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
5 out of 5 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by X-Trailer on 08-24-2014
The best vehicle I ever had!
I bought an X-Trail brand new late 2004 as it was 1st coming out in Canada. In fact I had to wait for it. I will never regret it. I still have the vehicle today, after close to 10 years. The engine is still running as new, much more quiet than a 2 year-old Kia! The most reliable vehicle I ever owned, no close match - in comparison to Ford Escape, Jeep Cherooke, which I got rid of after a few years. Regular maintenance only.. The front seats are so comfortable. Perfect vehicle for a 2 kids family with back recliner seats, & lots of storage space. The vehicle drives extremely well in the snow, as other already mention. Fuel consumption is good for a SUV. Excellent visibility in comparison to today's SUV

Again, this is the best vehicle I ever had over 30 years of driving including many rentals. I intend to keep it for many more years...
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
4 out of 4 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Marie8581 on 03-26-2014
Made for canadian winters
4x4 is a wonderful plus when you live in Canada! It increases safety, stability and pleasure to drive on every kind of fields! The spacious room in the Nissan X-Trail is also a great matter to consider for those who likes outdoor sports! Well thought, there's even a place to carry your skis on! And... why not starting kayaking while you're there?
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by domino5474 on 11-28-2012
great ride
it is really good in all weather evern i n 2 feet of water and snow i have had it up mountains in wales in the snow and no problems at all next thing is to get some big tyres

Primary Use: Sport/fun (spirited driving, track racing, off-roading, etc.)
Overall
4.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by MelChang on 11-17-2012
nice and compact suv
Reliable, compact and smooth to drive. I like the leather and heated seats. Good for those cold winter driving. Open up the large sunroof to get a good breeze during the summer drive or admire the stars during those clear nights.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

Trim: LE
by cofh on 11-13-2012
Decent vehicle with issues
I bought this car used in 2009. I liked the interior space, handling and the somewhat unique styling of the vehicle, but found several reliability issues with the car and some odd design decisions. The wheel bearings are very poorly designed and have had to be replaced twice at $1000 a pop. There are ongoing issues with the handbrake failing to engage properly. The back hatch lacks it's own manual lock, so if the electronic locks fail you are out of luck opening the hatch until that is fixed. The hatch handle is also prone to sticking so if you are not careful you hatch may pop open unless you manually push the handle back into the closed position. The back door locks are prone to freezing in cold weather and cannot be opened, or will not close until the car has warmed up. Engine performance is quite good for a 4 cylinder, but fuel efficiency is middling at best. Car has a tendency to fog up much more easily than any other vehicle I have ever owned. Some of the controls (lights and side mirror adjustments) are impossible to use while driving because they are so poorly placed. Not a bad car, but is marred by odd design issues and poor reliability of some parts which are expensive to replace.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
2 out of 2 found this review helpful.

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by XTR on 11-12-2012
X-Trail Lover
Owned the car for a while, and I love it. Its a smaller SUV which is easier for everyone (including me when I'm trying to park). Durable too...managed to get it over a curb when I was blocked in and get back on the road in no time.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 Nissan X-Trail

by Jaynac66 on 11-01-2012
Great utility vehicle!
Solid reliable vehicle. More capable than the rav 4 or CRV. Great size and cargo room. Very durable and fantastic in heavy snow. Absolutely love this vehicle.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email