Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

Ford Focus 2003Change

36 reviews
4/5
Ford Focus
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2014
1 review
2008
28 reviews
2002
24 reviews
2013
14 reviews
2007
40 reviews
2001
15 reviews
2012
60 reviews
2006
17 reviews
2000
18 reviews
2011
20 reviews
2005
33 reviews
1998
2 reviews
2010
39 reviews
2004
15 reviews
1997
2 reviews
2009
31 reviews
2003
36 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 36 reviews
1 2 >

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: SE
by MrGlebe on 01-09-2017
Great drive but very unreliable
I owned a 2003 Focus wagon for 7 years. It's a great drive, very peppy and handles really well on turns. Great interior space; I used the trunk to its full potential for work many times.

That's about all the car's pluses though. The car turned out to be VERY unreliable. Non-stop work required on the front suspension, had to replace the distributor caps and wiring at about 175,000. Spent almost $3000 trying to figure out why the car wouldn't start after I turned it off after using the A/C. Turns out it had a faulty emission control valve.

Oh and did I mention the rust? No rocker panels left to speak of when I got rid of it. And this in a car I took care of and oil sprayed every year.

Unless you're paying less than $500, AVOID these cars.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: SE
by SAB1982 on 12-31-2014
GOOD PERFORMANCE AND BEST FUEL ECONOMY
I had this car since 2010 I have no complaint
Very good performance and best in fuel economy
look great design and Style
Very satisfied with this car
Best insurance rate on this car.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: SE
by 03focus on 08-26-2014
Neat and Clean
Bought it off lease in 2006. It has been running great. There are no leans or collisions.With the fold down rear seats it has lots of cargo space.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Ford Focus

by 2003fordfocus on 06-22-2014
Ford Focus
This is a great car and for the right person it will be keep you safe and warm for years to come.

Safe, reliable, great technological upgrades.
Buy it and drive it away today.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: ZX 5
by Mike22222 on 05-03-2014
reliable car, great on gas
The vehicle is very reliable in the winter and has brought me home during several storms.
The gas usage is great and a tank will take you about 450 km (HWY)
Front wheel drive providing more control during bad weather conditions.
Sun roof will provide some sunshine and fresh air in the summer,
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: ZX5
by Jonas on 04-15-2014
Awesome!!
I drove that car for 6 months and did about 15,000 km across Canada. Whether I drove it up the mountain twice a week (for about 4 months this past winter without chains) or on the highway it always worked wonderfully. Really cheap on gas and a lot of storage room if you bent the seats, you'll have a lot of fun driving it.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: FZT
by 2003_Focus_ZTS on 11-06-2013
Best car I have owned!
Out of 6 previously owned vehicles, my Focus has been the best by far. Excellent on gas, especially on highway! Travels to Toronto and back on less than half a tank!
Comfortable and roomy, easy to park, and the trunk is huge!
Has been well kept with maintenance and oil changes, perfect for a student or for a second vehicle.
Factory stereo/CD player sounds really great too!
Definitely the best value!!!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: SE
by Romie on 09-03-2013
Fuel efficient 4 door sedan
Trouble free since purchased off lease in 2007. General maintenance completed in 2013 front and rear brakes exhaust as well as a repaired instrument cluster. Excellent fuel economy av. 36 mpg. No collisions needs minor touch up.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: ZTS
by Great_Value on 05-20-2013
Great_value!
Bought the car new in 2003. Been a really great A-to-B car for me. Very low km's. Canadian winter package was worth it. Started to show its age body-wise in the last 12-18 months but all in all, a really good value. Noticed that synthetic oil really makes a difference in the car's gas mileage, especially in the cold winter months.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: svt
by Stang on 04-21-2013
Not as advertised
This vehicle is not as advertised. The engine has been changed and there is no way to prove how many kms are on the engine. All they can say is that it was bought from a guy in New Jersey. The sunroof doesn't work properly and the car has been in an accident and states no accidents. It was damaged at Steeda where it is being stored. The rear hatch has surface rust as well as around the passenger wheel well. The headliner is falling down and is being held up with thumb tacks. They are not disclosing all in the ad so please be aware of what you are buying. Just a heads up for anyone looking at this vehicle.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by Demmunknytte on 03-23-2013
More than nice for the price
I have had my focus for a few years now and other than normal maintenance, I haven't had a problem.
It gives me a level of comfort that I can't get from my favorite chair.
I spend a few extra dollars in fuel than I did with my Mazda but the extra space makes up for it.
A car that I would recommend whether it's you first car or you last.
Maybe both.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: zx5
by LittleBeanish on 03-20-2013
My Ford Focus ..
I have had nothing but trouble with this little car . But , it's a cheap car to begin with so expectations shouldnt be too high . Although , i have heard that some people have had little to NO issues with them , so maybe Ford just made alot of lemons !!
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by MatSuta on 03-11-2013
A No-Complaints Car
The car is a decent and mediocre car, great for a young driver. Easy to drive and small enough to maneuver in. I've greatly enjoyed having this car.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by ortherion on 03-09-2013
Smooth and comfy
enjoy all aspects of the car. good design and sleek body. the performance of the car is great for long distance driving and it has guts
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by Perf on 03-06-2013
Focus wagon review
been a good car. roomy in the trunk, easy access. Great with the grand children. been reliable and is comfy to take long trips in. gas milage is about what I expected not bad but not great. I would buy another if they made a wagon model again.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by Perf on 03-06-2013
2003 focus
good car for the money, not a power house but comfy driving and reliable. would buy another one if it came in a wagon. gas milage isn't the greatest but about what I expected. Great with the 3 grand children. lots of room in the trunk area and easy to access.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: se
by Carbuff on 03-04-2013
worst car I ever owned
this is by far the worst car i ever had, even comparing to 1989 cavalier which was technologically more advanced, the focus seems to be outdated in features/standard options... BUT the worst part, the gas millage is terrible, my 2004 Sienna mini van gets about the same mpg if not better.
Overall
2.0
Comfort
2/5
Performance
2/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: Yellow
by Ryan_Rebs on 03-03-2013
Focus Hatchback 2003 Yellow
Very nice Ride. Quiet , comfortable and a Stylish look for a hatchback. Very Enjoyable

My Personal Opinion. I would recommend this car to the everyday driver with up to 4 passengers max in the vehicle. Other than that might be a tighter fit , but however it was a clean ride , Good Mileage and no Problems so far up to year 2013. Very Nice A+
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: ZX3
by Darrick on 02-07-2013
POWER, SAFETY, RELIABLE
Had my 2003 since new and im so happy with it. Such a good car. More power than a honda and toyota. More comfortable and way nicer looking in my opinion. Very reliable as i maintain mine on time every time. Great car!!! Sporty and FUN!!!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: ZX5
by focus6357 on 02-05-2013
Great bang for your buck
This car has been worth it's purchase price and then some....It has been very reliable...winter or summer,,,and I was amazed at the low cost to keeping it in top shape...not to mention the great fuel economy. I would not hesitate to own another one.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: Wagon
by Juicex85 on 01-25-2013
Ford Focus Wagon - VN
I have had my Ford focus wagon for 6 years now (bought it second hand) and I love it. Had some issues with the right front tires suspension, which is apparently common with this vehicle ... hit a bump and it decided to not work right. This is a known problem with these cars, and there was an extended warranty that covered most of the damage which was nice. One of the most comfortable interiors I've ever sat in, plenty of cargo space. All in all I am very happy with my wagon! I don't like the colour of my interior, and that's why I only gave it a 4.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

Trim: 1
by matilka on 01-22-2013
Could be better
we have this car for 1 year and we have to invest a lot of money in it because the previous owner did not care about it at all.
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by Docherty on 01-17-2013
City car
Decent car for short distances, not very reliable during long trips i've found. Only had a few mechanical problems within 200k, nothing too major.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by tiriffic on 01-12-2013
Terrific
I love my focus, It drives great, looks sporty, and the gas is cheap. Id never own a different car. If your looking for a cheap and affordable family car this is the right choice. I swear!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 Ford Focus

by amber on 12-29-2012
Good on gas
Smooth, durable could be more comfortable the neck part . gas last long , good quality very durable
Overall
3.0
Comfort
3/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
2/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email