Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

BMW 3 Series 1969-2015Change

459 reviews
4.5/5
BMW 3 Series
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2015
1 review
2004
26 reviews
1993
3 reviews
2014
3 reviews
2003
20 reviews
1992
1 review
2013
6 reviews
2002
17 reviews
1991
4 reviews
2012
19 reviews
2001
26 reviews
1990
1 review
2011
33 reviews
2000
19 reviews
1987
3 reviews
2010
22 reviews
1999
12 reviews
1986
2 reviews
2009
41 reviews
1998
4 reviews
1985
2 reviews
2008
51 reviews
1997
7 reviews
1984
1 review
2007
57 reviews
1996
5 reviews
1977
1 review
2006
41 reviews
1995
7 reviews
1969
1 review
2005
19 reviews
1994
4 reviews
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 459 reviews
1 2345 >

2004 BMW 3 Series

by Jacqui5383 on 03-12-2017
Love it, hugs the road, top quality
I purchased my car used and I've owned it over four years.
Always wanted a BMW and couldn't afford a new one, so I bought used.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328i xDrive Black Leather Seats
by BMW8229 on 03-11-2017
Excellent Ride
I have had no problems with this car. This has been pre- certified by BMW since Nov 2015 to present. It has amazing fuel economy.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325I
by reliable2 on 01-17-2017
Excellent ride, very comfortable
very nice ride, powerful, reliable and comfortable.
i traveled to US with and i frequently do Ottawa-Montreal back and forth (ever other week) and the car run amazing
$40 gas will cover the trip back and forth...!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 323 4D Sedan
by gifferd on 11-11-2016
Fantastic entry to BMW's line-up of sheer driving pleasure
If you enjoy driving dynamics infused with comfort, I highly recommend a 3-series BMW. It's a reliable car with practical functions (if you get the sedan). Fuel economy is reasonable, given the fact that it is agile.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: XI
by Samantha1231 on 11-04-2016
Amazing to drive
Take it for a test drive you will fall in love so smooth fast everything you need in a vechile all wheel drive don't worry about getting stuck. Heated seats keyless entry amazing
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325I
by JFL8383 on 10-27-2016
Fabulous car
A comfortable daily urban commute car owned since new. Dealer service experiences have always been exceptional. Few unplanned service visits and maintenance costs have been extremely low for a 12.5 year old car approaching 200K kms driven in salty Toronto winters. Good not great HP, but still a joy to drive with a 5 speed manual, and willing engine that begs to be revved. Can't say enough good things about this car. Was worth every penny.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i Cabriolet
by Bailey8 on 10-22-2016
Awesome ride!
I'm on my 6th year with my 335i Cab.
Love the handling and performance. Car has fast pickup and acceleration, perfect for highway and city driving.
Fairly good on fuel consumption.

Maintenance has been fairly average. Had the HPFP replaced twice under warranty. Around 140km, had the structs, control arms, thermometer replaced. Other than that, just the regular brakes and oil changes.

The one thing I will mention is that I go through tires faster than my previous cars..Guess I love to drive this thing!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2004 BMW 3 Series

Trim: M sport
by Oksana_AJ on 10-13-2016
Daily driver that can do well on track as well...
Great fun car, E46 masterpiece. E90 ruined the character that this generation personified !

Very reliable, know a person who is running it past 350K and it goes fast !


Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

by Rick_B on 07-04-2016
Great ride
This car is lady driven with very low kms. Excellent ride and in mint condition. I think the buyer of this car will be very satisfied with the handling and comfort of when driving. It has all the bells and whistles with 350 hp
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 323I
by Pashi on 06-26-2016
Smooth as Silk
I have enjoyed the smoothest and most comfortable ride so far. Never had a maintenance issue. Just basic maintenance like oil change and you are good to go. The on board computer prompts you for tire pressures, fluid changes and safety related info. I never had to remember or check when was something due on this car. I am changing it with another BMW.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335D Premium Executive Logic 7
by Steve8552 on 06-24-2016
Great Car BUT (continued)
This is a follow up on an extended review I wrote below.
At 93,000 km the car needed two new fuel injectors and mass air flow sensor. I had the work done at Budd's Oakville and incl. the decarbonization the bill was only $2800 with some goodwill which was appreciated. The only problem is when it was all put back together the engine light was still lit. The issue is OBD Code 2008 which has to do with the motor that actuates the swirl port flaps in the intake manifold which had either failed or jammed after re-assembly following the decarbonization. The car runs fine but the check engine light is lit all the time. I intend to remove the intake manifold myself and install swirl port blanking plates to see if that will rectify the problem otherwise it will need a need manifold – a part which costs about USD900.

The car has run flawlessly since the new fuel injectors were installed. On a recent 2500 km road trip the car averaged an incredible 48.7 mpg. Now with 118,000 km on the odometer the car runs incredibly smoothly and does not burn any oil. It may help that I change the oil every 10,000 km - twice as often as BMW recommend and I now only fill it with Shell V-Power diesel.

I have just replaced the stock suspension with a Bilstein B12 Pro-Kit and rear sub-frame & front control arm bushings with Powerflex bushings. The handling improvement is dramatic. If you're used to driving domestic cars will think a BMW is a big step up but honestly the rear still hops over bumps when pushed hard. These mods solve the problem. Autoworks in Oakville that did this for me for a very reasonable price.

335d’s are now 5-7 years old with 90 – 150 K on them. If you can find a well maintained one that has been decarbonized for $18-25K then by spending a bit more money on a few choice upgrades you will have and amazing vehicle but keep some $ in hand in case the injectors fail.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2013 BMW 3 Series

by MR15881 on 06-22-2016
Very stable ride
Great vehicle for comfort or sport driving, very reasonable maintenance cost, handles the road like a cat. cabin is very comfortable and luxury with great visibility.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 330I M3 Kit
by HKT on 06-16-2016
2002 BMW 330i M3 Kit
Best car I've owned so far in terms of handling and ride. It is amazing how the handling and ride is dramatically improved with only a 10mm lowered suspension. Combined with the sports suspension, the road feedback and handling, cornering, ride are awesome. Haven't driven another car that drives so well, the best of both worlds in sports and comfort. Had driven a Ferrari, it is nice, but not your everyday ride (very loud, stiff steering, low and hard suspension). Mercedes Benz E-class is a luxury car, not a sports car (so not appropriate comparison). VW Jetta TDI is a workhorse, but the drive is no where near the BMW. Love it. Will buy a similar, newer one, M3 or sports, and diesel.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2011 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i xDrive
by Angeline on 06-14-2016
BMW 335 Special Edition - Love it BUT...
I have a 2011 335i xdrive special edition. Beautiful car and fully fully loaded. I am in love with the handling and the way the car moves at the touch of the gas pedal. It has an m performance package and it growls on start - totally amazing car BUT has too many issues to keep. I have had the car for 2 years and in 2 years the car has been to the dealer 22 times. I have extra warranty and that is what has saved me. Unfortunately this car has become too much of a headache to deal with so I just bought a 435i xdrive. I am hoping there will not be any issues. I have had 5 bmws and the 435 will be my 6th. I have had a 2000 BMW 330ci, a 2009 128 convertible, a 2012 128 coupe, a 2010 328, and this 2011 335. All of my previous cars havent given any problems. I think any 28 series won't. The reliability of this vehicle is not good. I have replaced the water pump and thermostat at 60K, premature worn out ignition coils, blown speakers, and dynamic headlight motor malfunction. two coolant leaks, turbo problems, junction box and fuel pump replaced, now the car has a mind of its own and shuts off when it wants to. the car has 85000 kms on it and I am done with it. I pick up my new car tomorrow. So, if you don't mind regular repairs, you'll be thrilled to drive this car every single day. as well - tires wear very quickly and 19 inch rims have cracked quite frequently - another reason why I am getting rid of it. Enjoy!
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 330I Sport Package
by TO_Driver on 06-11-2016
Amazing luxury sport sedan
There's a reason why this vehicle is considered one of the best cars in its heyday. The 3.0L naturally-aspirated engine is powerful with 255 hp and similar torque rating. Combined with a slick 6-speed manual transmission, and sport package this vehicle transforms from a capable 4-door sedan into a racing machine capable of fast cornering with strong acceleration. The sound of the smooth 6-cylinder engine's purr at idle and resounding grunt on full throttle tickle the ears. The only downside is reliability including stuck throttle body, premature worn out ignition coil, HVAC fan malfunction, radio display malfunction, and dynamic headlight motor malfunction. That said, if you don't mind regular repairs, you'll be very happy with this vehicle for the amount of driving enjoyment it brings you.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

by JJJL on 05-16-2016
Sporty and dependable
Drove this model for years and I still am. Best car I have ever owned, dependable, no issues, and great gas mileage. This model is handles great and is wonderful to drive. Best model that BMW produces.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 BMW 3 Series

by Dan_the_man on 05-12-2016
For this particular car...
Scratches on the rear bumper show signs of an accident. Lifters are sticking. Cheap repair job done on rear driver side window moulding and passenger window does not go back up. Over priced for issues that this car has. Shouldn't be sold for more than $6000 cash IMO.
Overall
2.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

by Stan1974 on 05-04-2016
Amazing Car
This car is in amazing condition and runs great. There have been no problems with it, probably because I've treated it like my baby taking it in to get serviced regularly.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

by jake7528 on 05-03-2016
not as good as 2008
I had 2009 for 2 year i had to changed ABS wheel speed sensor+module radio light problem water pump wheel bearing that's the problem you will always face with 323i,
323i the worth to have. 325+ way better
Overall
1.0
Comfort
1/5
Performance
1/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
1/5
Exterior Styling
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 323I
by Moe6851 on 04-18-2016
german engineering at its best
Amazing performance, handling, design and fuel consumption. Low maintenance and great looks. The interior is simple and classy. Has all the options needed for a modern car. Stereo definitely needs to be upgraded.
Engine is great if well maintained. Suspension is very reliable!
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328i xDrive
by Patrick2616 on 04-03-2016
balanced ride, car
Like the car, very balanced platform. Whatever you do, you have a good control and feeling. no big issues but it is recommended to use extended warranty on these cars as it is no surprise for parts high cost replacement.

Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

by rob1657 on 03-26-2016
BMW E92 TWIN TURBO
I had the same ride for 3 years. not a single problem ,highway millage is good but the city was a killer one of the best ride I owned
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
1/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i xDrive Executive Sport Package
by BMW_Lover on 03-18-2016
This baby has been very very good to me!
7 years ago I took possession of my first BMW (a 335i xDrive), after having driven an Acura MDX for 6+ years prior to the BMW and a Dodge Grand Caravan for 10+ years prior to the Acura MDX and Toyota Supra prior to that!

So it was time for me to get back into a sports car (sedan) that still had enough room for a family of four but allowed me to let the horses running wild when I drove it alone!

Other than a few minor issues this car has been an absolute delight to own and more importantly to drive!

The dual turbo six cylinder 300 horsepower hugs the road exceptionally well and the Sport steering is extremely responsive yet very firm, as one would expect.

It was armed with all the bells & whistles available back in 2009, although not up to par in comparison to 2016 standards.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335XI Coupe
by BMW-335XI on 03-02-2016
Awesome car
I have been driving for 40 years. This is the best car ever.

It has great pick-up because of its twin turbo and 300 hp. The ride is quiet...no squeaky sounds or wind noise. It is Comfortable and a pleasure to drive. The REST feature is fantastic.

Very reliable. Starts in Winter in very cold temperatures while I see other cars in its category not starting.

Handles the road very well. The XI (X dive) makes the ride easy in winter.

You can't go wrong with this car.

The only thing that I didn't like about this car was the run-flat tires...This was an easy problem to fix.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2011 BMW 3 Series

by mel4193 on 01-18-2016
great car
Great car. Lots of power for passing. Love the dual comfort zone heating/cooling. Have had to make 0 repairs. The all wheel drive is amazing during winter time. My wife drives a Mercedes 350, and the BMW Xdrive is by far a better car, and handles way the road much better.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email