Owner reviews
The most cars in one place
Make:
Model:
Year:
Location* (required)

BMW 3 Series 1969-2015Change

483 reviews
4.5/5
BMW 3 Series
How many stars is
your car worth?
Write your review now!
Average Rating By Year
View Years: to Go
2015
2 reviews
2004
26 reviews
1993
3 reviews
2014
4 reviews
2003
22 reviews
1992
1 review
2013
6 reviews
2002
18 reviews
1991
4 reviews
2012
21 reviews
2001
27 reviews
1990
1 review
2011
33 reviews
2000
19 reviews
1988
1 review
2010
23 reviews
1999
12 reviews
1987
3 reviews
2009
43 reviews
1998
4 reviews
1986
2 reviews
2008
54 reviews
1997
7 reviews
1985
2 reviews
2007
61 reviews
1996
5 reviews
1984
1 review
2006
44 reviews
1995
7 reviews
1977
1 review
2005
21 reviews
1994
4 reviews
1969
1 review
Sort by: Display:
Showing 1-25 of 483 reviews
1 2345 >

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i
by BMW_335i on 07-25-2017
Twin Turbo speedster
Riduculously fast car for the price point. Twin turbo, 5 speed manual. Leave the id*ot drivers in the dust with just a tap on the pedal. Comfortable ride, overall great car. Pricey to fix, eats gas.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328i Executive Package with Nav
by wannabehoonigan on 07-25-2017
BMW stereotypes not as bad as feared with this one
2009 model purchased CPO from a BMW dealer in 2011 with 31000km. Review written in 2017 at 150000km.

I was nervous about the luxury German reliability stories…Thankfully my experience is only partly true. Purchased the extended RFT warranty and had to use it with a defective tire within the first 20000km.

The RWD experience is as fun as advertised. The 230hp is modest compared to many modern sport compacts and sedans out there but the refinement, transmission and power delivery are among the best in the industry – Same can be said for cabin comfort and refinement. No issues from 2 adults in the rear seat for space. Trunk also generous for the vehicle class. Winter driving not the best, but manageable – I will avoid RWD until I start shopping for a car exclusively for fun. Interior is “Spartan”, but functional. BMW iDrive (in this 2009 model) was overall well executed. Exterior design still quite sharp after 8 years IMO.

Dealer warranty wasn’t always the most pleasant – You will likely be nickled and dimed and denied full repair at first assessment. But if you have tact, you can get them to fully honor the written agreement. Wear and tear maintenance is pricey and required more frequently than mainstream brands, but I think the trade-off is worth it. The biggest blemish on this experience was an alternator that required replacement at 70000km. It required 3 dealer trips and some pushback, but I got it covered under warranty (was told that it would have been an $1800 fix). Also, both tail lamps required replacement inside of 100000km ($350 each), some intermittent single stereo speaker cutout noted around 90000km, non-functioning AC at 140000km (low cost band aid fix).

Bottom line: High price, high expectations, and after 6 years and 120000km of ownership, I am very satisfied with the experience.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i xDrive
by sandysdasda on 07-23-2017
wonder full car
i have owned the car for 2 years, the only problem i have had was the water pump. it rides amazing and has tons of pep. parts and repairs are readily available. the AWD system keeps you onteh road dunring rhe crappy winter months.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325
by Low_Rider on 07-22-2017
fast fun reliable
A very solid, comfortable car that is fun to drive. A great highway cruiser. Lots of room for passengers and a big trunk. This car has lots of power and they run for years and years.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 BMW 3 Series

by irkhanbasc on 07-20-2017
A great vehicle to treat yourself with
I purchased this vehicle from a used car dealer in late 2012; the car had one previous owner. When I was car shopping, I was looking for a used late-model Honda or Toyota, but this vehicle was available for about the same price. Although it was over five years old, I was quite impressed with it. Since I have owned the vehicle, it has mostly run very well; there was one incident when the electric water pump suddenly failed, requiring an expensive service, but other than that, the vehicle has been quite reliable. The fuel economy was better than I had expected for such a heavy vehicle. The engine is powerful and the ride is smooth, even at high speed. All in all, this is probably the most enjoyable car I have ever driven.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328i xDrive
by gddriverx1 on 07-17-2017
Good Car
Have had it for a long time, and no complaints. typical car maintenance but with luxury services. Drives great and comfortably. Pricing is very good for the kind of car you are getting,
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

1988 BMW 3 Series

by salsaguru on 07-16-2017
A real Classic BMW .. enjoy owning 2 of these BMW ,
1988 BMW 325i , very good on maintance for a car this age , well built, out last time on rust .. drives well even in winter condition , with optional hard top , since it has heated seats and ABS.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325I
by Roy2527 on 07-16-2017
BMW 325i 2005
I loved this car as my first car. i took care of it like my baby, if you keep it well maintained it will last you a very long time. beautiful inside and out.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 318I 212
by UmbyaShpee on 07-04-2017
Amazing review
Long lasting amazing views 9.11/10, Certianly worth a buy if you have the money got it discounted and don't regret it
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2005 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325I
by Fouad_Ten7855 on 07-04-2017
Best BMW to me
Is the best BMW performance to me. have a look of a agressive car. Great engine, 0-60 mph in 6,54 sec. Great sensation eat a little bit of fuel but it's okay.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2012 BMW 3 Series

by sj1010 on 07-02-2017
Best in class
Like any other German make this is a solid make. You can feel the engine roar when you are behind the wheel. Built for performance.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328XI
by RJB7333 on 06-27-2017
Great Little Car !
Nothing but pleasure driving this duo transmission wagon , lots of pep & stability ...Thing flies thru corners , and manuevers well thru traffic ; steady footing , solid body and steady steering ! Out performs much of the European competition ; Some of the downfalls are boring stationwagon styling , sun/moon roof not large enough ; rear seats are folded flat which helps when carting stuff and dogs ; seperate window and tailgate shud be a must for all stationwagons ; another downfall could be the boring dash and quirky controls for regular things , does not add to a positive feel but once used they seem quite normal ; definitely would purchase the same model over and over again !
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2010 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 328I
by Tommycharger on 06-20-2017
GOOD for for the first 3-4 years
Like the ride quality, but the repair cost way too much for me. Planning to sell it. Great car for everyday driving. Greating in the rain and snow.
Overall
3.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
3/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2014 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 320I
by adehaner on 06-17-2017
Rate BMW-320i
The BMW 3-Series is the core of the German automaker's lineup, the essence of its driver's-car reputation. Many enthusiasts see it as the iconic BMW, an elemental representation of the dynamic, driver-centric qualities for which the brand has become known
Overall
4.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
4/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2003 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i
by Mikee1 on 06-16-2017
It's a terrific ride
luxury, speed, and class included all in one. For amateurs, few modification like air flow, lights and interior trim is good to add.iI recommend K&N air flow, nice 18'' mags, carbon fiber interior trim. Multi color lights changing and the sound system is already good.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2007 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i E93 Cabriolet
by Eric4765 on 06-13-2017
Dream of a vehicle!
Fantastic car overall. I have the E93 Cabriolet and I could not be any happier. From comfort to performance to looks this car is ages ahead of its time! With a powerful twinturbo 6 cylinder engine, comfortable leather seats and a hardtop convertible this car is endless amounts of fun! If you are in the market for one you cannot go wrong go ahead and buy it! Loads of potential for modifications with a simple ECU remap bringing HP up from a stock 300 to 420! Beat M3's and much more with only about $2000.00 cost
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2015 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335i
by sonia2977 on 06-11-2017
My bmw
Best car ever owned, love everything about it I will recommend anyone who is looking for a nice long term car.....please invest on BMW...one of the best thing you will do and invest your money into....it will last you for a long long time
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 out of 1 found this review helpful.

2001 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 325XI
by loveallcars on 06-10-2017
Great car! but costly to maintain.
Overall it's a great car with great looks.
It seat is quite comfortable and roomy back seat for passengers is nice. It would have been better if trunk is a bit bigger but it is big enough to store daily groceries.
The car has v6 engine and all wheel drive. It runs smoothly and cornering is quite good but a bit heavy on gas and premium gas is recommended but not required.
Exterior design personally thinking is exceptional doesn't look that old compare to modern cars considering it's from 2001.
Reliability, I think it is overall reliable car, solid engine and sturdy build. However, when time comes and you have to change failed parts, it will be costly so watch out for that.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
4/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 323I
by caidenm on 06-05-2017
BMW 323Is are ahead of their time.
Parts are very pricey however that is what you get with a luxury car. It get's around 21mpg combined however it does take premium fuel so keep that in mind if you buy this car. Push start, sunroof, etc. features from ahead of it's time.
Overall
4.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
2/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2002 BMW 3 Series

by robbypreet on 05-30-2017
one of the best BMWs out there
the chassis out perform the engine any day. such a smooth ride. you can put a V10 in it and it'll still feel at home. very stable at high speeds. beautiful outside. amazing interior design. fuel consumption is somewhat more than modern cars.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

by vibegallo on 05-23-2017
great vehicle
stylish,comfortable,reliable ride.by 180000 youll nee to start replacing suspension parts.in city we have 10.2l per 100(summer) and 12.8l 100 in winter.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
5/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2006 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 330XI
by markcia on 05-08-2017
Be aware of what your getting into
Fantastic handling and performance with a firm Driver in "control feel". You must ensure you perform proper oil changes every 6000 k Not 10000!!! Use the correct viscosity (very important in the winter). Be aware of Dealer maintenance charges when buying used. If you have a young family and on a tight budget, "Stay Away" as the maintenance costs can go through the roof. Common problems i have had. 3000.$ bill for valve-tronic variable valve timing sensors at servo motor. Many nuisance engine lights that will freak you out to diagnose and repair. dealer will love you and be dishonest ...Dealing with dealership is stressful. If you have a good mechanic he can do most jobs but if you start having issues you will have to pay big dollars. Buy a honda or a toyota
Overall
3.5
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
3/5
Exterior Styling
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2008 BMW 3 Series

Trim: 335XI
by speeddiva on 04-16-2017
Sweet!
This car corners unbelievably, stops on a dime, has fantastic acceleration, is a hoot to drive and is one heck of a great winter vehicle. I put Blizzaks on it last year and have pretty well laughed my way through winter driving conditions ever since. Ok, so it's not great on gas for regular city driving. On the highway, in 6th gear, it's pretty good, unless you have a lead foot, which I will admit to having sometimes. My only complaint is that you feel every bump in this car, and speed bumps are a real drag, but that's the pay-off for the amazing handling and cornering of this beauty. BMW forever!
Overall
5.0
Comfort
4/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2009 BMW 3 Series

by 335i_xdrive_Sport on 04-12-2017
Wow fast and good on fuel!
These cars are super quick and when model can easily keep up to $100000 sport cars. I would only buy the xdrive. The rear wheel drive is a little too torquey in winter driving. Good on fuel when driven lightly.
Overall
5.0
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
4/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No

2004 BMW 3 Series

by Jacqui5383 on 03-12-2017
Love it, hugs the road, top quality
I purchased my car used and I've owned it over four years.
Always wanted a BMW and couldn't afford a new one, so I bought used.
Overall
4.5
Comfort
5/5
Performance
5/5
Fuel Economy
3/5
Interior Design
5/5
Exterior Styling
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Is this review useful?
Yes No
1 2345 >
Information or opinions expressed in these reviews are not endorsed by autoTRADER.ca
Have comments about autoTRADER.ca Owner Reviews? Send us an email